Baby Strange

Baby Strange



Baby Strange are an indie/rock band formed in 2012 in Glasgow, Scotland. The band consists of Johnny Madden (vocalist/guitarist), Connaire McCann (drummer) and Aidan McCann (bass) who share their name with a T. Rex track from the 1972 album The Slider.[2] However, there are conflicting reports as front man Johnny Madden states in an interview with Guestlist says, " unlike people think we actually made the name up and it really stuck, and then we realised it was a T-Rex song." [3]

The three-piece from north Glasgow were friends for years. "Creating Baby Strange was a great way to show off our creative side which we didn’t have the opportunity to do beforehand" says frontman Johnny Madden, as this band seems committed on bringing their contemporary punk to the nation. A unique feature of Baby Strange is that the recording, videoing and artwork of all work is done by the band members themselves.

Some of the songs of the band include:

The band was formed in the summer of 2012, says frontman Johnny Madden. "We had no jobs, we were living for nothing. We were going out all the time, seeing the same faces, doing the same things. When we sing, "I’m tired of my generation", we mean that we’re part of this generation, and we were bored by ourselves." With the help of Connaire’s 17-year-old brother at the time, Aidan on bass, the trio began writing "fast, snappy, in-and-out punk-rock songs" in their bedrooms.[5]

The band all met at a community music group in Glasgow.

The band portrayed their different side in their clip on YouTube where they emerge blinking, done simply but memorably, to mark the release of 'Pure Evil' on 27 May 2014. "California Sun" sees Baby Strange at their most confident in a pleas for sunshine by Johnny Madden's relentless, dark vocals.



Young Team
Young Team is a song by musical group Baby Strange, released on June 30, 2017.
Extended Play
Extended Play is an album by musical group Baby Strange, released on June 14, 2017.
Play Me
Play Me is a song by musical group Baby Strange, released on May 19, 2017.
Motormind is a song by musical group Baby Strange, released on March 24, 2017.

Photos - Baby Strange12

Popular Albums5

Popular Songs10

TV Shows1

Collaborators & Influencers2


You May Also Be Interested In2


Spotify - Albums & Singles12


Spotify - Top Tracks10


News Articles1

Affiliated Locations3

New Items