Broken Social Scene

Broken Social Scene



Broken Social Scene is a Canadian indie rock band, a musical collective including as few as six and as many as nineteen members, formed by Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning.[1] Most of its members play in various other groups and solo projects, mainly in the city of Toronto. These associated acts include Metric, Feist, Stars, Apostle of Hustle, Do Make Say Think, KC Accidental, Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton, Amy Millan, and Jason Collett.

The group's sound combines elements of all of its members' respective musical projects, and is occasionally considered baroque pop. It includes grand orchestrations featuring guitars, horns, woodwinds, and violins, unusual song structures, and an experimental, and sometimes chaotic production style from David Newfeld, who produced the second and third albums.

Stuart Berman's This Book Is Broken (2009) covers the band from its inception to its critical acclaim.[2] In 2010, Bruce McDonald made This Movie Is Broken, a movie about the band's Harbourfront show during the 2009 Toronto strike.



Spotify Singles
Spotify Singles is an album by musical group Broken Social Scene, released on December 6, 2017.
Spotify Singles
Spotify Singles is a song by musical group Broken Social Scene, released on December 6, 2017.
Hug Of Thunder
Hug of Thunder is a song by musical group Broken Social Scene, released on July 12, 2017.
Hug of Thunder
Hug of Thunder is the fifth studio album by Canadian indie rock musical collective Broken Social Scene.

Photos - Broken Social Scene390

People Recently Photographed at Broken Social Scene Events4

Popular Albums13

Album Appearances & References12

Popular Songs9

Song Appearances & References3


Minor Film Appearances & References6

TV Shows5


Collaborators & Influencers15

Other Music-Related Relationships5

Awards & Nominations9


Band Members22

You May Also Be Interested In13


Spotify - Albums & Singles31


Spotify - Appears On9


Spotify - Top Tracks10


News Articles2

Affiliated Locations3

New Items