John Abercrombie

John Abercrombie



John Laird Abercrombie (December 16, 1944 – August 22, 2017) was an American jazz guitarist, composer and bandleader.[1][2] His work explored jazz fusion, post bop, free jazz and avant-garde jazz. Abercrombie studied at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts. He recorded his debut album, Timeless with Manfred Eicher's ECM label, and recorded principally with this label since then. Abercrombie played with Billy Cobham, Ralph Towner, Jack DeJohnette, Charles Lloyd, Michael Brecker and Randy Brecker. He was known for his spare, understated and eclectic style and his work with organ trios.[3]



Up and Coming
39 Steps is a studio album by guitarist John Abercrombie with pianist Marc Copland, bassist Drew Gress, and drummer Joey Baron recorded in 2016 and released on 13 January 2017 on the ECM label.
Within a Song
Within a Song is an album by guitarist John Abercrombie's Quartet with saxophonist Joe Lovano, bassist Drew Gress, and drummer Joey Baron recorded in 2012 and released on the ECM label
Timeless is the debut album by American jazz fusion guitarist John Abercrombie.
Sargasso Sea
Sargasso Sea is an album by guitarists John Abercrombie and Ralph Towner recorded in 1976 and released on the ECM label.

Photos - John Abercrombie27

Popular Albums42

Album Appearances & References80

Song Appearances & References1

Live Album Appearances & References2

Musical Groups2

Musical Group References1

Awards & Nominations1

Collaborators & Influencers51

Other Music-Related Relationships8

Personal & Professional Relationships1

You May Also Be Interested In37

Spotify - Albums & Singles53


Spotify - Appears On45


Spotify - Top Tracks10


News Articles1

Affiliated Locations3

New Items